Select Page

Endings and beginnings

‘In my beginning is my end’, T. S. Eliot, East Coker (Four Quartets)

No beginning.
No end.
Nothing out of everything,
everything out of nothing.
out of the circle,
into the circle.
Circle within circle.
Turning and re-turning.
Morning turning to evening,
evening to morning.
Dusk to dawn,
dawn to dusk.
Victim to killer,
killer to victim.
Victor to vanquished.
The circle unbroken.
Infinity of circles,
turning and spinning.
Falling and rising.
A falling and a rising
of water,
but above all a falling,
of leaves
of rusting steel
of shattered cities
of worms
of plastic bags
of bullets
of bicycles.
The forever falling
into dust.
The dust devil rising,
its taking its shape.
The once bullet
now flower;
the once worms,
now fortress;
the once desert
now meadow.
The sun’s engine
dust into dust.

All new creation
a recycling,
even the poem —
the same words in a new order,
the same idea in new words.
Illusion of newness
out of unseen circles,
wordless worlds,
worldless words.
No beginning.
No end.

© David Urwin 2015

Written in response to a workshop run By Peter George, which examined the second of the Four Quartets and challenged us to take inspiration from Eliot’s writing.

Dave Urwin was raised in Manchester, but lives a rural life in west Wales. His first volume of poetry, Towards Humanity, was published in 2015 by Pinewood Press, Swansea. He has had haiku published in Blithe Spirit, the journal of the British Haiku Society, and two haiku were printed on beer mats to promote the Penfro Book Festival 2016. He has had ‘protest’ poetry published on the webzine, I am not a silent poet. He publishes a selection of his poems on his poetry blog: He reads/performs regularly at various venues in south-west Wales and is MC for the monthly Cellar Bards event in Cardigan.